You don’t have to be a Fashion Week Outsider

-Every year the women of new york leave the past behind and look forward to the future... this is known as fashion week-

That time of the year has arrived… Fashion Week season is upon us and NY fashion madness starts today! I am in the other side of the Atlantic, but… I am saying hello from the other side 😉 Do you want to know how?

Not all of us are part of the lucky ones that get to sit in the front row to watch the most amazing fashion creations in the catwalk. However, thanks to Social Media (I am an assumed addict) and mostly thanks to the online world (Internet is obviously one of the best inventions ever), we don’t have to be outsiders anymore. More, we are part of it, we get to experience it differently, and with an advantage: because we are further, we get to analyse our favourite designers and their creations with the peace that you don’t get in the middle of the event. Most important, we get to see amazing photos of what happens in the backstage and in the street. You do know what I mean, right? How many times have I got inspiration from the street style that surrounds fashion events?

So, in this post I want to share how to get involved from home in NY Fashion Week without ending up depressed and eating and entire chocolate box.

Gather Information

VOGUE: I know this sounds like a cliché, but Vogue is my fashion bible. Not only I buy the printed magazine whenever I can, I also follow the magazine on social media – mainly Facebook, Instagram and Twitter. After every show, they publish amazing reviews and high quality pictures of the creations. Moreover, you can zoom in and out, and actually look through the details. There are still selections on the best street style… and quality is guaranteed.

Business Of Fashion: one of the best online platforms to get insights and interesting articles about the fashion business. In their section dedicated to Fashion Week, you can filter by designer and by show, and the world of fashion opens to you.

Gather Information (1)

Eventbrite: besides the actual fashion shows, do you know there are loads of other things happening during Fashion week? If you´re around, Eventbrite offers you a list of the events that you can’t miss if you’re in NY city in the next few weeks. The best thing about Evenbrite is that they provide you a  tool to to help you managing your own events, publicise them and sell tickets. Everything gets easier, faster and cheaper online. So here you’ll get access to all kinds of events, and you might be surprised 😉

 The Fashion Week Online: get all the schedules you need and stream the shows online!

Gather Information (3)

I follow fashion bloggers, yes, those lucky girls who get to wear amazing designer pieces and accessories and have a sit waiting with their name on it. My favourite one is definitely Andy Torres, from Stylescrapbook, but I also follow The Blonde Salad, Song of Style and Lovely Pepa. But instead of getting green with jealousy, I enjoy the possibility of having a taste of the fashion week madness: social media are the key, especially through Instagram and Snapchat, they basically stream fashion events live for us.

If I was to go to the NY Fashion Week, I wouldn’t miss  Vera Wang’s, Carolina Herrera’s, Oscar De La Renta’s and Tadashi Shodi’s shows. However I’d love to assist to Diane Von Furstenberg, DKNY, Calvin Klein and Michael Kors’ shows as well… but for now, I am just going to stream their shows in my laptop and try to have the time to discover new favourite designers.

I have to be honest about one thing: I am not a big fan of celebrity designers. Knowing that Kanye West and Rihanna are probably “stealing” the attention from amazing talented and hard working designers is something that worries me in the Fashion Industry. It’s amazing how easy things come to these people after conquering the fame…

But, mostly, these Fashion Week season…

Gather Information (4).png

I’ll try to keep the blog updated about my favourite shows and creations during NY Fashion Week 🙂

What about you? Do you use any specific platforms to be updated about the upcoming fashion events? Excited as I am about the Fashion Week? Share your thoughts!

With love,

Nicole

2 thoughts on “You don’t have to be a Fashion Week Outsider

Leave a Reply

