A New Year. And Now What?

Here it comes my very late New Year post.

Welcome 2016

This was the first time as an adult that I didn’t make any new year’s resolutions. I decided that instead I just going to keep on working on five main principles:

  1. Don’t take your life too serious;
  2. Enjoy more each day of your life;
  3. Go for what you want and what you dream for.
  4. Learn and evolve;
  5. Love yourself.

Three basic pillars, yet so damn complicated. How many times I’ve heard people telling me to be calm, to not make a big deal out of something, not to worry too much. Just to relax. Not to diminish myself, not to be too harsh on myself.

It sounds so easy, but it is not, and you know it, right? That’s why 2016 is going to be a year to keep on working in myself, to try to enjoy life, to take risks, somehow to be happy with my life and myself. Keep on discovering new things, new places and new experiences. This is also my advice for all of you.

And you know what? Even without making a list of resolutions I started my year doing stuff I would never thought I would do.

On the 1st of January I found myself in a cinema room ready to watch the new Star Wars movie. I had never seen star wars in my life, neither I would thought I could enjoy any of it. And you know what? I LOVED IT. I suppose I arrived home a bit more nerdy. But who cares? I enjoy being nerd, that’s what I am.

On the 2nd of January I went ice skating. I had never skated in my life before. Neither in ice, neither in solid ground. I knew I would be a disaster because that’s what I am. Even just walking I can trio in myself and fall. And I was. I almost fall 50 times. But in the end I was happy for trying it. Getting out of our comfort zone can be incredibly revitalising.

Don’t stress out about new year’s resolutions. Just take the time to do what you love and to love yourself, instead of being under the pressure of trying to be something.

Happy New Year !

With love,

Nicole

2 thoughts on “A New Year. And Now What?

Leave a Reply

