Imagine. We Can Only Imagine

IMG_9408

I’ve been neglecting my blog in the last few weeks, which makes me feel bad about myself. I have been busy since I moved to London and because my job requires me to work eight hours a day in front of a computer screen, when I get home I just want to look to real book pages, to talk for a while with my housemates or to just watch some TV before going to bed. I am trying to somehow fill in the gaps by posting on weekends and today I thought I could post something about fashion.

However, after last night’s events I just couldn’t not to say something about it. I am all in when it comes to peace, and the several and now too frequent terrorist attacks make me feel disgust, anger, and somehow emptiness because I know that mankind just seems to be lost. I do not believe in any particular god, and I can’t imagine myself praying. Nevertheless, I do not judge who does it. I do not judge others beliefs. What I do judge is any act performed against innocent people, against peace, against the world, regardless of religion, race, gender, sexual and political orientation.

The only pray that came to my mind when I started to read the first news about what was happening (again) in such a beautiful and amazing city like Paris is, was Imagine. Imagine there’s no countries/It isn’t hard to do/Nothing to kill or die for/And no religion too/Imagine all the people/Living life in peace….

What a shame for this world, for every each of us, that we can only imagine. What an embarrassment it is to realise how empty and meaningless things and beliefs are putting humans against humans, turning them into their worse enemies, making them perform such nasty and evil attacks.

My mind is indeed in Paris. But it is also in all the other attacks and wars that continue on a daily basis in some countries and of which who never heard about or we just don’t care. Because they are not so close? Because they believe in different things, because they wear different clothes? Is it the colour of their skin, the difference in their culture? I had to place here this reflection.

I had the pleasure to meet Paris in person for the first time earlier this year. I was lucky with the weather – cold and rainy – but still Paris looked beautiful, magical, surreal. It represents so many things for me – freedom, equality, fraternity. It represents revolution, the fight for democratic values, for people’s rights. It represents Arts, the bohemian life, the amazing and so talented fashion designers. Paris is beautiful on the outside and definitely even more on the inside.

My heart is with every innocent who are caught up in shameful and empty terrorism and war actions.

With love,

Nicole

Leave a Reply

