How I saw Berlin in 2 days

The first thing coming to my mind when I think about my visit to Berlin is scars. Then I think about memories of war, about reminiscence. Only after that, I remember the city that is trying to be cosmopolitan, in style, and the ironies that we cross while in there.

I think it is comic all the phenomena that there is surrounding the traffic lights. I wasn’t aware of the Ampelmann history. I thought it was odd to see little men and girls in the traffic lights and I started to photograph them. Then I realized the phenomena it was, with stores dedicated to it (and the souvenirs with the Ampelmann are not cheap at all).  The Amplemann is basically an effort to maintain something from the Eastern part of Berlin and I just think it is lovely.

I loved to visit the East Gallery in the Wall of Berlin, as I already wrote here, I was in chock due to the vandalism.

To be honest, I was expecting a city with much more modernity. Of course, I cannot be exigent. The city was completely destroyed in the WW II (about 70 years ago, I suppose), and they have an extraordinary power of recovery. They were able to recover their cultural heritage, their beautiful monuments I must add. The island of museums is to emptive. Unfortunately I didn’t have the time to visit any of their museums, but I am hoping to go back there and focus on artistic heritage. I think I was just expectating a bit more of electricity in the streets, I mean people, happy people. Bars, restaurants, stores… amazing architecture. And I just felt that everything was a bit dark and sad.

A funny thing (and yet quite odd) is the strange smell of sewage I sensed in Alexanderplatz (one of the main plazas over there, with a wonderful world watch) and where there was the biggest symbol of Berlin: the Brandenburg Gate. Isn’t it strange? To have a capital city with such a strange and bad smell in its main locations? Maybe I just happen to be there in the wrong weekend. Moreover, I wasn’t able to take the picture I want to of the Brandenburg Gate, since there was a concert right in front of it. The stage was an obstacle to get the right perspective. And the worst thing was the music. The music they were playing was just awful. Or maybe I just do not share of the German taste for bands.

I mentioned the scars because Berlin do not let us forget the war, the pain, the terror. It makes us think, to reflect about desperation, about human limitations and where human nature can lead to. I could also feel guilt and shame. Memorials are needed to remind us to not commit the same mistakes. To put ourselves in the shoes of the ones who suffered by seeing their city being destroyed, their homes, the places where they used to feel safe, the only life they knew, the ones that unfairly were tortured, held prisoners, who died. The ones who were hungry and cold, the ones hidden with fear, the sadness and desperation of family and friends dead, or nowhere to be found. I don’t care if this made the weekend greyer. I know I have to know it, as everyone else that is lucky as I am should.

01-IMG_0725

02-IMG_0833

03-IMG_0916

04-IMG_0922

05-IMG_0954

06-IMG_0959

07-IMG_0961

08-IMG_0967

09-IMG_0867

10-IMG_0789

11-IMG_0792

12-IMG_0794

13-IMG_0677

14-IMG_0686

15-IMG_0691

16-IMG_0740 17-IMG_0753

18-IMG_0760

19-IMG_0775

20-IMG_0783

21-IMG_0628

22-IMG_0666

23-IMG_0670 24-IMG_0587 25-IMG_0589 26-IMG_0499 27-IMG_0513

28-IMG_0514

29-IMG_0516

30-IMG_0518 31-IMG_0539

32-IMG_0545

33-IMG_0562

34-IMG_0397

35-IMG_0413

36-IMG_0433

37-IMG_0439

38-IMG_0443

One thought on “How I saw Berlin in 2 days

Leave a Reply

